Faculty Member and Ph.D. Candidate Receive Honor Society Awards

Sue Lasiter, associate professor and director of the School of Nursing and Health Studies Ph.D. program, and Patricia Endsley, a current Ph.D. candidate at the school, received top awards from Sigma Theta Tau International, the nursing honor society, during a virtual award ceremony in April.

Lasiter, Ph.D., R.N., received the Daisy Faculty Award, established to celebrate nursing teachers’ commitment to, and inspirational influence on, their students. Among the award criteria are enthusiasm, personal interest in students, fair and unbiased treatment of all learners, and excellence and professionalism in teaching and nursing. She was nominated by her colleague, Matthew Chrisman, Ph.D., assistant professor, and endorsed by Debra Sims, a Ph.D. candidate.

“I am humbled by being nominated by a colleague and student and chosen by the UMKC chapter for this highly respected award,” Lasiter said. “It is truly an honor.”

Endsley, MSN, RN, is a nurse at Wells High School in Wells, Maine, and on track to receive her doctorate from UMKC this year. She received the society’s Leadership Award for advancing public health as  president of the Maine Association of School Nurses. She was nominated by Catherine Snow, RN, PMRN-BC, who is the president of the American Nurses Association of Maine.

“The Maine Association of School Nurses advocated for the new Maine law which eliminates all school vaccination exemptions, except for medical reasons,” Endsley said. “Maine is the fifth state to eliminate all but medical vaccination exemptions.”

These awards typically are presented at the UMKC chapter’s Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Society induction ceremony at Pierson Auditorium. That had to be replaced this year as an online ceremony, “which was a very new experience,” said the chapter president, L. Renie Stephan, RN, BSN, DNP, FNP, clinical assistant professor.