Celebrating Our Award-Winning Students

Dean Cary presented awards to (left-to-right) Kathryn Slagle, Kylie Wilson, Bridget Kenny and Alauna Christian (Not pictured, Amanda Thomas was unable to attend)

This past commencement, we not only celebrated all our graduates, we also celebrated a handful of students with our year-end awards. Congratulations to both our graduates and our awardees. Here are those award-winning students.

Kathryn Slagle was presented with the Award for Academic Excellence. This award is given to a student who has the highest overall GPA enrolled in the BSN Programs.

The award for Advancement of Nursing went to Amanda Thomas. This award is selected by the faculty and given to a RN-BSN student. In receiving this award, Amanda Thomas is being recognized for her contributions she has made to advance the profession by actively engaging in professional nursing organizations, committees, community work, and/or research activities.

Kylie Wilson  received the Excellence in Nursing Award. This is presented to a Baccalaureate Pre-licensure and/or Accelerated student. It is selected by the faculty and recognizes a student who has demonstrated excellence in nursing care, exceptional student, strong clinical judgment, a caring attitude, and unwavering desire to serve.

The Leadership in Nursing Award was presented to Bridget Kenny. This award is given to a RN-BSN student selected by the faculty. In receiving this award, Kenny has demonstrated leadership qualities while engaged in the practicum community leadership project setting that cultivated and promoted creativity, trust, mutual respect, integrity and collaboration among team members.

Alauna Christian received the Leadership in Nursing Award, which is given to a Baccalaureate Pre-licensure or Accelerated student and chosen by faculty. This award recognizes leadership qualities in the clinical setting, among peers, community (all or any) and a strong potential to be a nursing leader in the community and/or for the profession.

Congratulations again to all these well deserving students!